Page 1 of 1

The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 30 May 2021 00:12
by 20 characters
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (10.13 KiB) Viewed 453 times
I get this message as soon as I open (tried to change lang file to EN to get message in english, but did not change anyting)

program closes directly if OK pressed.

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 30 May 2021 00:13
by 20 characters
Seems to be some old rare issue? https://forum.mh-nexus.de/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=965

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 30 May 2021 03:33
by Maël
Is it the portable or the installable version? And what is the version number and is it 64 or 32 bit version of HxD?

Thanks.

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 30 May 2021 06:03
by 20 characters
standard version downloaded here earlier today
2.5.0.0 (February 11, 2021)
https://mh-nexus.de/en/downloads.php?product=HxD20

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 30 May 2021 07:39
by Maël
There are two types, installable or portable. Please tell me which one.

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 30 May 2021 14:26
by 20 characters
if I new there was a portable version i would have used it :o

But no no, I installed it.

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 30 May 2021 20:20
by 20 characters
full details (exiftool result)
Sans titre.png
Sans titre.png (21.52 KiB) Viewed 422 times

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 04 Jun 2021 15:39
by Maël
I wonder if it's maybe an encoding issue (special code page setting). It's tricky to diagnose, since the French version works fine here.

What Windows version are you using?
Can you try moving HxD.exe into another folder and see if the error still occurs, or tell me what the folder path is (which is hidden in the screenshot)?

Also, can you please compute and post a checksum/hash of your HxD.exe, such as a sha1?

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 08 Jun 2021 20:31
by 20 characters
Windows : Microsoft Windows [version 6.1.7601]
original install : C:\Sandbox\user\Installateur\drive\C\tool\HxD Hex Editor
location : C:\tool\HxD Hex Editor

for hash wait a sec ...
b3abd6c443a31a91ff809f8201129091d43b9bc3e8a08b19d993288feffb98ef
(done here : https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/b3a ... /detection)

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 09 Jun 2021 11:58
by Maël
So it's most likely a Windows 7 SP1 issue.

I am trying to make a VM, but don't have enough space on my system right now. Would you test a special version that has debugging information in it?

Also, do you use a special sandboxing software, given then name "C:\Sandbox\user\Installateur\drive\C\" ?

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 09 Jun 2021 12:51
by Maël
Ok, I installed the exact same Windows version you have on a VM, transferred the same HxD.exe you are using onto the Desktop, and started it.
No error message. It creates a Settings folder on the Desktop (because that's where the HxD.exe is) and works well. Same for the installable version: no error message.

So maybe it's due to virtualization issues and redirecting INI files or similar.

What is this sandboxing in the path I mentioned above?

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 11 Jun 2021 17:38
by 20 characters
Sorry for delayed reply.
Yes I'm using Sandboxes to install tools, I'm using Sandboxie.
and when I've checked it isn't leaking on the web, I either move to drive (if it works) or reinstall.
Got the bug in sandbox, but if I click ok program stays open for a few minutes and seemed fine, and just closed.
So I moved it, but in this case, move just didn't start, so I tried to install, and got the bug too.

but I've tried to start it again the sandbox installed version moved in local drive just now and ... it seems to just work ... no more message (I uninstalled the one out of sandbox) maybe the installation did something that patched the issue? no clue ... (I've cleaned registry after uninstall though)

if you wish I can try your special test version on the sandbox? or a portable version?

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Posted: 11 Jun 2021 18:31
by Maël
Ah, that's unfortunate, now it will be hard to reproduce.

Maybe it's due to registry or file access redirections made by Sandboxie. What version of Sandboxie were you using?

When you encountered the problem the first time, had you installed/used HxD before on this machine or was HxD installed/used the first time?