Page 1 of 1

Done: 64 bit RAM-editor (was: lack of memory)?

Posted: 04 Jun 2008 19:06
by Adanedhel
Hi
im trying to edit exe file of game, but each time i choose process from open RAM menu, HxD freezes (no response) and after about 5 min. i get message box with: not enough memory...or something like that.

I have 2GB ram and Im a proud :x user of Vista, is it possible that, this happens because of insufficient memory?

Re: lack of memory?

Posted: 06 Jun 2008 04:40
by Maël
Hello Adanedhel,

I made several tests with HxD under Windows Vista but didn't get that error (with and without UAC).

Hm, out of memory is a strange error since it shouldn't take much. What is the exact error message you get (use Ctrl+C when the error window appears to copy the message) and what is the game which causes the problem?

Maybe the game applies some tricks to protect itself, do you get the same error with other applications?

Regards, Maël.

Re: lack of memory?

Posted: 06 Jun 2008 17:28
by Adanedhel
Hi again,
so the message is just like i said:
---------------------------
HxD
---------------------------
Out of memory.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
Game that couse so much trouble is Hellgate London.
Ive read on game forums that HxD is the best way to input/modify some values in HG:L,but it's really strange because as far as i can tell this is the only process that couse "out of memory",other applications tend to behave quite normal (opens after few sec.)
maybe its connetcted with my OS, because the majority of HG:L players that edit something, worked under 32bit system, and im using 64.
If its not the reason im clueless
Regards, Adanedhel

Re: lack of memory?

Posted: 06 Jun 2008 19:02
by Maël
Oh, you are working under a 64-bit system, that may very well be the reason.

I haven't tested HxD under a 64-bit system running a 64-bit OS as I have currently no such setup, I'm sorry.

Re: lack of memory?

Posted: 06 Jun 2008 20:25
by Adanedhel
nevertheless,
thanks for quick answers and support.

one love, positive, peace, and other rastafari greetings and salutations :)

Re: lack of memory?

Posted: 09 Jun 2008 01:05
by Maël
You are welcome :-)

Re: lack of memory?

Posted: 14 Feb 2009 10:10
by dabombnl
This happens to me also on Vista x64 when opening the RAM of a 64-bit program. Works great on 32-bit programs though.

I'm looking forward to when you get a 64-bit system. Or if you compile a 64-bit version, I would be happy to test it for you.

Re: 64 bit RAM-editor (was: lack of memory)?

Posted: 06 Feb 2019 12:03
by Maël
There is a 64-bit version of HxD since 2.0. This includes also a 64-bit RAM editor / process memory editor.