Copying a USB thumb drive.

Help on how to use HxD.
carwarr

Copying a USB thumb drive.

Post by carwarr »

Love your Hexeditor. I have used many others in the past but I plan on using yours from now on.

I have a strange problem that makes no sense to me.

I have a 32M usb stick with some linux stuff on it. It is formatted in ext2 and since I am not very good at linux yet, I thought I would just hex copy everything from the 32M with your HxD program and then copy it to another one. Since I did not have another 32M stick, I decided to do it to my 64 meg stick guessing that it would show up as a 32meg stick which would be OK.

I started with the 64m stick formatted with fat32, and copied all the data from zero to whatever and pasted it onto the 64m stick. Wrote the changes and read them back and everything took.

The problem is it is still showing as a fat32 drive with nothing on it in windows and linux. The original 32meg stick when inserted into a windows system, says it needs to be formatted, but the new one I created still shows up as an empty fat32 drive. I thought this was very strange and figured that it must be looking farther down the data on the 64 meg stick that I did not overwrite or something, so I decided to zero out all the rest of the data past what I originally copied to the 64meg stick. Darn thing still showed up as an empty fat32 drive!

Then I booted into Ubuntu and it also showed up as an empty fat32 drive also. So I formatted it in Ubuntu to be ext2, then booted back to windows to be able to use HxD and copied all the data again. This time it worked fine. Windows does not recognize it and wants to format it, and Ubuntu sees it as a ext2 drive with all the files on it. I tried the same thing a second time by formatting it back to fat32 just to make sure I wasn't on crack and it did the exact same thing.

I know this is not a problem with your hex editor, but I thought you might know what the heck is going on!