Beginner doing something stupid

Help on how to use HxD.
donrecardo

Beginner doing something stupid

Post by donrecardo »

I am sure there is an easy answer to this but being a beginner I dont know what it is

I have a small dev board from Sure Electronics with a pic 18F4520 on it
On powering up it says " Sure Electronics V1.1 " on the LCD

I have a copy of the firmware that is loaded into it and I know that it works because I loaded it in many times
My plan was to load the firmware hex file into an editor and change the displayed text to something of my choosing

I have two text editors , " Neo" and HxD
I did Open File and chose the firmware with Neo but the line I wanted to change didn't appear anywhere in the text window ,
but Neo also has several other open options like open proccess and open Hex. I chose the option to , Open Hex and when I did ,
sure enough I found the line I want to change , it starts at 0000165a
I changed it ( keeping the same amount of characters) , saved it , but when I tried to load it back into the editor it told me it was corrupt.

That was when I downloaded HxD , Thinking I might have more luck, but when I load the file in there , The line I want is nowhere to be seen .
at 0000165a it should start with 53 75 72 65 which are the hex codes for ' Sure ' but instead it says 39 32 38 30 which doesn't make much sense to me

Can someone please tell me how , using HxD do I load in my hex firmware and get it to display the text in a readable manner ,
and then is there any special way to save it , after altering the text , so that the file is not corrupt ?
Maël
Site Admin

Re: Beginner doing something stupid

Post by Maël »

It's hard to reply to that without seeing what file you have and what you want to do.
But I can give you a general answer.

HxD is a hex editor, not a text editor. The right column is showing the interpretation of the data as text. Sometimes it makes sense, sometimes not.