The company name cannot be empty

Bug reports concerning HxD.
Post Reply
20 characters
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 May 2021 00:06

The company name cannot be empty

Post by 20 characters »

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (10.13 KiB) Viewed 451 times
I get this message as soon as I open (tried to change lang file to EN to get message in english, but did not change anyting)

program closes directly if OK pressed.
20 characters
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 May 2021 00:06

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by 20 characters »

Seems to be some old rare issue? https://forum.mh-nexus.de/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=965
Maël
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 14:15

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by Maël »

Is it the portable or the installable version? And what is the version number and is it 64 or 32 bit version of HxD?

Thanks.
20 characters
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 May 2021 00:06

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by 20 characters »

standard version downloaded here earlier today
2.5.0.0 (February 11, 2021)
https://mh-nexus.de/en/downloads.php?product=HxD20
Maël
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 14:15

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by Maël »

There are two types, installable or portable. Please tell me which one.
20 characters
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 May 2021 00:06

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by 20 characters »

if I new there was a portable version i would have used it :o

But no no, I installed it.
20 characters
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 May 2021 00:06

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by 20 characters »

full details (exiftool result)
Sans titre.png
Sans titre.png (21.52 KiB) Viewed 420 times
Maël
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 14:15

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by Maël »

I wonder if it's maybe an encoding issue (special code page setting). It's tricky to diagnose, since the French version works fine here.

What Windows version are you using?
Can you try moving HxD.exe into another folder and see if the error still occurs, or tell me what the folder path is (which is hidden in the screenshot)?

Also, can you please compute and post a checksum/hash of your HxD.exe, such as a sha1?
20 characters
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 May 2021 00:06

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by 20 characters »

Windows : Microsoft Windows [version 6.1.7601]
original install : C:\Sandbox\user\Installateur\drive\C\tool\HxD Hex Editor
location : C:\tool\HxD Hex Editor

for hash wait a sec ...
b3abd6c443a31a91ff809f8201129091d43b9bc3e8a08b19d993288feffb98ef
(done here : https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/b3a ... /detection)
Maël
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 14:15

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by Maël »

So it's most likely a Windows 7 SP1 issue.

I am trying to make a VM, but don't have enough space on my system right now. Would you test a special version that has debugging information in it?

Also, do you use a special sandboxing software, given then name "C:\Sandbox\user\Installateur\drive\C\" ?
Maël
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 14:15

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by Maël »

Ok, I installed the exact same Windows version you have on a VM, transferred the same HxD.exe you are using onto the Desktop, and started it.
No error message. It creates a Settings folder on the Desktop (because that's where the HxD.exe is) and works well. Same for the installable version: no error message.

So maybe it's due to virtualization issues and redirecting INI files or similar.

What is this sandboxing in the path I mentioned above?
20 characters
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 May 2021 00:06

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by 20 characters »

Sorry for delayed reply.
Yes I'm using Sandboxes to install tools, I'm using Sandboxie.
and when I've checked it isn't leaking on the web, I either move to drive (if it works) or reinstall.
Got the bug in sandbox, but if I click ok program stays open for a few minutes and seemed fine, and just closed.
So I moved it, but in this case, move just didn't start, so I tried to install, and got the bug too.

but I've tried to start it again the sandbox installed version moved in local drive just now and ... it seems to just work ... no more message (I uninstalled the one out of sandbox) maybe the installation did something that patched the issue? no clue ... (I've cleaned registry after uninstall though)

if you wish I can try your special test version on the sandbox? or a portable version?
Maël
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 14:15

Re: The company name cannot be empty

Post by Maël »

Ah, that's unfortunate, now it will be hard to reproduce.

Maybe it's due to registry or file access redirections made by Sandboxie. What version of Sandboxie were you using?

When you encountered the problem the first time, had you installed/used HxD before on this machine or was HxD installed/used the first time?
Post Reply